9º World Congress on Health Information and Libraries

Salvador, Bahia - Brazil, September, 20 to 23 - 2005


4th Regional Coordination Meeting of the VHL

September, 19 to 20 - 2005


General Organizing Committee
  • Chair: Abel Laerte Packer
    Director, BIREME/PAHO/WHO
Honor Committee
  • Mirta Roses Periago
    Director, PAHO/WHO
  • Humberto Sérgio Costa Lima
    Minister of Health, Brasil
  • Donald A.B.Lindberg
    M.D. Director, National Library of Medicine, USA
  • Paulo Souto
    Governor, State of Bahia, Brasil
  • Naomar Monteiro de Almeida Filho
    Rector, Federal University of Bahia, Ministry of Education, Brasil
  • Paulo Buss
    President, Oswaldo Cruz Foundation, Ministry of Health, Brasil
  • Derek Law
    Head, Centre for Digital Library Research, Professor, University of Strathclyde, Scotland, UK
International Committee
  • Chair: Tony McSéan
    Director of Library Relations, Elsevier, UK
  • Arne Jakobsson
    President EAHIL - European Association for Health Information and Libraries
  • Becky Lyon
    Deputy Associate Director for Library Operations, National Library of Medicine, USA
  • Bruce Madge
    Head IFLA Health and Biosciences Libraries Section
  • David Dickson
    Director, Science and Development Network - SciDev.Net, UK
  • Ibrahima Bob
    President AHILA - Association for Health Information and Libraries in África
  • Jorge Veiga de Cabo
    Director, Biblioteca Nacional de Ciencias de la Salud, ISCIII, Spain
  • Laurie Scott
    President Canadian Health Libraries Association, Canada
  • Lenny Rhine
    Director, Health Library, University of Florida, USA
  • Llana Peled
    Director Bio-medical Libraries, Tel Aviv University, Israel
  • Maria Manule Prates
    Librarian, Fac. Biomedical Sciences, Univ. New Lisbon, Portugal
  • Masaaki Tonosaki
    Representative Japan Medical Library Association, Japan
  • Melanie Kammerman
    President ALIA - Association of Health Libraries Australia
  • Michel J. Menou
    ASIS&T International Liaison, France
  • Najeeb Al-Shorbaji
    Regional Advisor for Health Information, WHO EMRO, Egipt
  • Neil Pakenham-Walsh
    Moderator HIF-net at WHO, Senior Programme Manager, INASP, UK
  • Patricia L. Thibodeau
    President MLA - Medical Library Association, USA
  • Yvonne Grandbois
    Director, WHO Headquarter Library, Switzerland

International Committee for the Promotion in Latin America and the Caribbean
National Committee
  • Coordinator: Antonio Alves de Souza
    Executive Secretariat, Ministry of Health, Brazil
  • Executive Secretariat: Marcia G. Rollemberg
    Ministry of Health Representative in the BIREME´s National Advisor Committee and the Advisor Committee of the Brasil - Public Health VHL
  • Sérgio Alexandre Gaudêncio
    International Health Advisor/ Ministry of Health, Brazil
  • Jean Pierre Ernest Küng
    Director Datasus/SE/Ministry of Health
  • Ricardo Gamarski
    General Manager, Knowledge Management/Anvisa/Ministry of Health
  • Vanize Schuler
    Manager of Tourism and Events, Embratur/Ministry of Tourism, Brasil
  • Rubio Cezar da Cruz Lima
    Officer Coordinator, Science and Technology Secretariat for the Social Inclusion, MCT
  • Claudio Sampaio IN MEMORIAM
    Director Central Library, UNIFESP/EPM
Sub Committee for promotion and Marketing
  • Cooperating Centers of the Virtual Health Library Souces in Brazil
Local Committee
  • Coordinator: University Federal of Bahia
  • Gonçalo Muniz Research Center, FIOCRUZ
  • State Secretariat of Health, Bahia
  • City Secretariat of Salvador
  • State of Bahia Office
  • City of Salvador Health Council
  • State of Bahia Health Council
  • State of Bahia VHL Network Libraries

Programme Committee
  • Chair: Abel L. Packer
    Director BIREME/PAHO/WHO
  • Alberto Pellegrini Filho
    Public Health Researcher, Brasil
  • Bruce Madge
    President, IFLA Health and Bisciences Libraries Section
  • Elenice de Castro
    Coordinatos EVE/GA, BIREME/PAHO/WHO
  • Hooman Momen
    Editor, Bulletin of the World Health Organization, WHO
  • Pedro Urra
    Director, CNICM/Infomed, Cuba
  • Reynaldo F.N.Guimarães
    Director, Decit/Scti, Ministry of Health, Brasil
  • Paulo Gadelha
    Director of Education and Research, Fiocruz, MS, Brasil
  • Gladys Faba Beaumont
    Director, Center of Information for Health Decision making, INSP, Mexico
Executive Secretariat
  • Chair: Elenice de Castro
    Coordinator EVE/GA, BIREME/PAHO/WHO
  • Angela Bueloni Cuenca
    Head, Library, Faculty of Public Health, University of São Paulo, Brasil
  • Ilma Noronha
    Director, Center for Scientific and Technological Information, FIOCRUZ, MS, Brasil
  • Jussara Long
    Head, Library, National School of Public Health, CICT/FIOCRUZ, MS, Brasil
  • Eliane Santos
    Manager VHL MS/Library/Cgdi/Saa/Se/MS
  • Marylene Rocha de Souza
    Social Comunication Office/GM/MS